Databases

RPL cardholders have access to a variety of online resources that they can use from home on their computer, tablet or smartphone. Your library card must be in good standing to be able to use these databases. You will need to have your library card number to register.

CLICK ON THE DATABASE ICON TO GO TO THAT SITE

Ancestry Library Edition

Ancestry Library Edition provides page-image document reproductions with a searching interface. This resource can only be used in the library.

Document collections include:

  • U.S. Decennial Census schedules, 1790-1930 (with state censuses and city directories as 1890 Census proxies).
  • UK and Irish Census schedules, 1841-1901. Scottish Censuses, 1841-1861. Canadian Censuses, 1901-1911, and provincial censuses, 1851-1906.
  • The Social Security Death Index. Parish records, birth, marriage, and death records.
  • Immigration records, including New York and San Francisco passenger lists.
  • Military records, including World War I and World War II draft registration cards.
  • Full text materials, e.g., Federal Writers’ Project Slave Narratives. World War II-era Stars and Stripes editions.
  • Odd things, such as collection of World War II-era high school yearbooks

Free Driver Education Program

What’s included? The  driver education program contains the following state-specific information:

– 11 car practice tests

– 9 motorcycle practice tests

– 12 CDL (commercial driver’s license) practice tests

– 3 online driver’s manuals (car, motorcycle, CDL)

– A FAQ  section with detailed answers to over 100 DMV-related questions

The program automatically updates as new practice tests become available.

Note on accessibility: The new Read Aloud toolbar (found in the footer of every page) includes tools that let users hear selections read aloud or make them into MP3s, translate pages into other languages, magnify text, and mask sections of the screen for greater visibility. All tests can now be read aloud by ESL speakers, those with vision problems, and those with such learning disabilities as dyslexia.

Learning Express Library

Give your children an opportunity to practice their math, reading or writing skills. Need to brush up on skills before taking the SAT, Postal Exam, ASVAB, or many other career tests?

The Learning Express mission is to help students and adult learners improve the skills required for academic and career success. Our Learning Express Library™ platform provides the most comprehensive selection of educational resources—including more than 1,000 tutorials, practice exams, and eBooks—for basic skills mastery, academic success, job preparation, and career advancement. for a complete list of Learning Express resources.

For a complete list of Learning Express resources click Learning Express Modules.

Pronunciator Languages – AVAILABLE UNTIL JULY 31, 2019

Pronunciator offers 80 foreign languages. They also have ESL for 50 non-English languages. Each language has an average of 9,000 instructional phrases, which translates to about 4 years of possible activities per language. Uniquely, they also offer the ability to learn any language in any other language — making for 4,000 possible course combinations!

There are several levels of courses to choose from including a healthcare course made specifically for front line health care personnel and first responders.

They also have hundreds of live, teacher-led conversation groups, limited to 5 students per session to ensure individual attention, running 7 days a week.  The ProCitizen course is specifically designed for immigrants to succeed at the Naturalization Test.

Pronunciator is accessible to all- Both this browser-based app and the custom apps for all Android, Apple, and Kindle Fire devices, are accessible to blind and low-vision users. The browser-based app can be used by screen readers such as JAWS, and can also be used in keyboard-only mode. The mobile apps support both TalkBack (Android) and VoiceOver (Apple), and can also be used with external USB keyboards. Once you have registered you can down load the mobile apps here.

Click HERE for a list of Pronunciator languages.

Universal Class

Universal Class offers over 500 courses, both self-paced and instructor-led. You can enroll in up to 5 classes at a time and you have 24/7 access to the classes. Certified instructors are available to answer questions and assess the student’s performance and you can also connect with other students taking the same class. Many courses qualify for Continuing Education Credits (CEUs).  Popular courses include dog psychology and training, accounting and bookkeeping, Learning software programs like Excel or Word, digital photography, caring for seniors, Adobe Photoshop, nutrition, ABC’s of English grammar, yoga, gardening, office management and so much more!

Click here for a complete list of classes available.

Creativebug

Creativebug offers a variety of art & craft video classes – from crocheting and sewing to quilting and jewelry making. You can watch the classes you sign up for anytime and anywhere on your computer or mobile devices, and they do not expire, so you can create at your own pace. All you need is a library card.

 

Resources for children:

BookFlix from Scholastic (Grades PreK-3rd)

BookFlix is a digital literacy resource that pairs more than 120 animated stories from Weston Woods with a best-selling nonfiction eBook from Scholastic on a similar subject. The fiction and nonfiction pairings are designed to strengthen early literacy skills while exposing young learners to real-world concepts.

 

TrueFlix from Scholastic (Grades 3 and up)

Offering dozens of units to supplement social studies and science core curricula learning, TrueFlix is a highly-engaging multimedia resource. Beautiful, authentic eBooks are enhanced with a deep and diverse reservoir of related content in a variety of text types and media—including primary sources, fiction, videos, audio clips, images, and related websites. TrueFlix helps students improve literacy skills, build content-area knowledge, and cultivate the critical skills necessary for academic success and college and career readiness.

Save

Save

Save

Save