FIN Resources 2017-09-05T10:01:49+00:00

Resources for Non-Profits

Rockville Public Library maintains a core collection of continuously updated print and electronic materials that address the specific grant seeking needs of local nonprofit, grassroots and faith-based organizations. The Library is part of the New York based Foundation Center’s Funding Information Network. The Center’s mission is to foster public understanding of institutional philanthropy by collecting, organizing, analyzing, and disseminating information on foundations, corporate giving, and related subjects through a core collection of Center materials and databases.

Contact: Sharon Redfern, Head of Circulation, Technology & Grants 860-875-5892  x113 or sredfern@biblio.org.

Online Resources:

Foundation Center Databases:

The Library provides free unlimited access to The Foundation Directory Online Professional. The Foundation Center Online is the premier resource for locating in-depth information about grantsmakers and their grants. Includes almost one million grant opportunities from about 90,000 grantmakers. Either keyword text search all fields in this database or limit results geographically, by fields of interest, types of support, donor name, and more. Results may be sorted by total giving or total assets. Records include Profile, Grants, News/Jobs/RFPs, Publications, People and 990s, where available. Updated weekly. Library only.

Foundation Grants to Individuals: Foundation Grants to Individuals Online, is one of the most comprehensive databases of foundations that provide a wide range of funding support for individuals for purposes, including scholarships, student loans, fellowships, program development, internships, professorships, arts and cultural projects, research, awards/grants by nomination only and general welfare. Either keyword text search or limit results by foundation name, geographically, by fields of interest, types of support, or school name. Updated weekly. Library only.

Foundation Maps: This is the Foundation Center’s premier data visualization tool and the easiest way to see who is funding what and where around the world.  Access to comprehensive funding data — and ways to make sense of that information — is essential to understanding the field of philanthropy, an organization’s own place within it, and new opportunities to make a difference.

IssueLab: Collecting, Connecting, and Sharing Knowledge About Critical Social Issues with over 21,000 issue white papers from 6,000 organization.

GrantSpace.org:  a service of the Foundation Center, offers information and resources that are free. Visit the site and start discovering the many free tools and resources available for grant seekers!

Foundation Center FAQs

The Foundation Center’s Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs) section provides answers to more than 125 questions about the Foundation Center, funding research and resources for nonprofits and individuals, nonprofit management, and more.

Live Chat/Discussion

Join The Chronicle of Philanthropy every Tuesday at Noon for a live online discussion on a variety of topics related to the nonprofit world. The Chronicle’s live discussions do not require registration. Simply go to the page linked below at noon Eastern time on the day of the scheduled discussion and click on the Chat box to participate. If you cannot participate during the live event, the full transcript will be available afterward. Transcripts of previous discussions are also listed on the site.

Live Discussions about Nonprofits, Tuesdays @ Noon EST

Other Online Resources for Non-Profits – click on the name to go to the site.

Association of Fundraising Professionals

For five decades, AFP has been working to advance ethical and effective fundraising and support charities around the world that provide critical services to their communities.

BoardSource

With nearly 25 years of hands-on experience working with nonprofit boards, BoardSource has become the go-to resource for funders, partners, and nonprofit leaders who want to magnify their impact within their community through exceptional governance practices. BoardSource offers consulting services, publications and a membership program to increase the effectiveness of nonprofit organizations by strengthening their boards of directors.

Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance (CFDA)

Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance (CFDA) provides a full listing of all Federal programs available to State and local governments (including the District of Columbia); federally-recognized Indian tribal governments; Territories (and possessions) of the United States; domestic public, quasi-public, and private profit and nonprofit organizations and institutions; specialized groups; and individuals. Currently, programs in the Catalog are being classified into types of assistance, of both financial and non-financial nature.

Center for Faith-Based and Community Networks

This website of the U.S. Dept. of Health and Human Services offers information on funding opportunities by to topic area to community grasroots organizations as well as faith-based organizations.

Charity Navigator

Charity Navigator, America’s leading independent charity evaluator, works to advance a more efficient and responsive philanthropic marketplace by evaluating the Financial Health and Accountability and Transparency of 6,000 of America’s largest charities.

Federal Grant Program (Grants.gov)

Grants.gov is a source to find and apply for federal grants. The U.S. Department of Health and Human Services is the managing partner for Grants.gov. Please know that Grants.gov does not provide personal financial assistance.

Glasspockets: Foundation Transparency and Accountability

Glasspockets.org is a web site created by the Foundation Center focused on transparency in philanthropy.

Grantionary

A glossary of terms related to grants and funding (education oriented)

Grants Professionals Association

The Grant Professionals Association (GPA) a nonprofit membership association, builds and supports an international community of grant professionals committed to serving the greater public good by practicing the highest ethical and professional standards. Membership dues required.

GrantSpace

GrantSpace is a service of the Foundation Center. It offers information and resources that are specifically designed to meet the needs of nonprofits worldwide in need of know-how for securing funding and operating effective organizations. Grant seekers can explore in-depth content, engage with a community of peers and experts and energize their fundraising efforts. The site also includes live chat sessions, notifications of upcoming webinars, seminars and training sessions and useful books and documentation.

Learn How to Become

LearnHowtoBecome is a guidebook for students and young professionals seeking careers in the non-profit sector. It includes a detailed rundown of specific fields, organizations, and job titles with strong connections to non-profit work. It also discusses the importance of volunteering, and how donating time can serve as a bridge to a full-time paid position.

National Center for Charitable Statistics (NCSS)

The NCCS is the national repository of data on the nonprofit sector in the United States. Its mission is to develop and disseminate high quality data on nonprofit organizations and their activities. Working closely with the IRS and other government agencies, private sector service organizations, and the scholarly community, NCCS builds compatible national, state, and regional databases and develops uniform standards for reporting on the activities of charitable organizations.

National Council of Nonprofits

The National Council of Nonprofits is a trusted resource and advocate for America’s charitable nonprofits. Through the nation’s largest network of nonprofits the organization serves as a central coordinator and mobilizer to help nonprofits achieve greater collective impact in local communities across the country.

Philanthropy Journal

The Philanthropy Journal is a program of the Institute for Nonprofits at NC State University in Raleigh, NC. and serves nonprofits and their supporters by helping them tell their stories and increase their capacity through nonprofit news, resources, announcements and job listings.

Pro Bono Partnership

Pro Bono Partnership provides business and transactional legal services to nonprofit organizations serving the disadvantaged or enhancing the quality of life in neighborhoods in New York, New Jersey, and Connecticut.

TechSoup

501(c)(3) foundations can register with TechSoup for donated and discounted software and hardware.  They also offer foundations and their grantees access to technology solutions and services and the free learning resources they need to deliver most effectively on their mission.

USA.gov for Nonprofits

Find information and services for nonprofits, including grants, loans, assistance, taxes, management and more.

USASpending.gov

This site was developed to meet the requirements of the Federal Funding Accountability and Transparency Act of 2006. This is a single searchable website that offers free information on each federal award.

Print Resources

After the Grant: The Nonprofit’s Guide to Good Stewardship (2010)
America’s Nonprofit Sector (2012)
Board Member’s Book (2003)
The Foundation Directory (2012)
The Foundation Directory, Part 2 (2012)
The Foundation Directory Supplement (2012)
Foundation Fundamentals (2008)
Foundation Grants to Individuals (2012)
Foundation Growth and Giving Estimates (2012)
Foundations and Public Policy (2009)
The Grantseeker’s Guide to Winning Proposals (2008)
Guía para escribir propuestas (2008)
Guide to Funding for International and Foreign Programs (2012)
Guide to Proposal Writing (2012)
Key Facts on Social Justice Grantmaking (2012)
National Directory of Corporate Giving (2011)
Securing Your Organization’s Future (2001)
The 21st Century Nonprofit: Managing in the Age of Governance (2009)

Translate »