The Friends of Rockville Public Library

The Friends of RPL is a voluntary organization under the Library’s nonprofit status. The mission of the Friends is to advocate for the library, raise much-needed funds for the library, and sponsor programs and special events at the library.

UPDATE – Regular Meetings Schedule:

The Friends of Rockville Public Library will not be holding meetings until our library opens. Fundraising will be difficult for our group this year and we would like to continue to help the library with their requests. Presently we fund the Bookpage which is on the table for those who use curbside pickup.

Now that bottle recycling is open again, we are asking our community to save your receipts and at anytime to put them in an envelope and mail them to the library, 52 Union St., Vernon, CT 06066 in c/o of the Friends so that we can begin fundraising for the season. Thank you all so much and of course, stay safe!!!

Projects in which the Friends take part include
Assisting in the preparation of the library’s Annual Appeal mailing
Supporting children’s and adult programming
Annual Holiday Cookie Sale in December
Purchasing museum passes for RPL cardholders

New members are welcome at any time. Dues are flexible and begin as low as $5. If you are interested in joining, please pick up an application at the library or call (860) 875-5892 x 100, and request that an application is mailed to you. To download an application you can print and mail in, please click Friends Application

Applications should be mailed to:

Friends of RPL
52 Union Street
Vernon, CT 06066

You may also “sample” a Friends meeting and see if you would like to join. Brown bag luncheon meetings take place the first Thursday of most months from September through May at 12 noon in the Community Room on the main level of the library. Beverages and dessert are provided. In June, the Friends have a year ending get-together. Meetings and program notices are sent out by email blast or in the Reminder or JI.

Friends of the Library Officers

President: Carol Barcomb
Vice President: Nancy Swanton
Secretary/Membership: Sue Loalbo
Treasurer: Jan Geissler
Publicity: Donna Barnas